Connect with us

Real Madrid News

Real Madrid have already qualified for the revamped 2025 FIFA Club World Cup



Photo by Michael Steele/Getty Images

FIFA has recently announced changes in the FIFA World Cup, with the total number of participants raised from 32 to 48, to be applicable from 2026.

At the same time, the football’s top governing body has also announced radical changes to FIFA Club World Cup. For one, the current version of the FIFA CWC will be discontinued in 2023, reports MARCA.

Instead, FIFA will conduct an annual competition featuring the winners of the UEFA Champions League and the winner of the intercontinental playoff of other confederations. That means the winners of this edition of UCL will be granted entry to the 2024 competition.

Moreover, FIFA is set to introduce a new format for the Club World Cup, increasing the number of participants to 32 teams. There will be a total of 12 teams from Europe, four of which will be given to the winners of the Champions League between 2021 to 2024.

Real Madrid, therefore, have been granted entry to this new edition of the FIFA Club World Cup, which will start in 2025. The competition will be held every four years, following the tradition of the World Cup itself.

Along with Real Madrid, Chelsea have also qualified, having won the 2021 UCL. Meanwhile, the other eight teams from Europe will be taken from the UEFA coefficients. That may apply even if either Real Madrid or Chelsea win the UCL title again over the next couple of years.

This new edition of the Club World Cup is likely to draw criticism as football’s governing bodies continue to trend of adding more matches, in an attempt to generate more revenue.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Real Madrid News

Official: Real Madrid starting lineup against Elche



Photo by Juan Manuel Serrano Arce/Getty Images

The Santiago Bernabeu is ready for the first time in a fortnight as Real Madrid are set to host relegation-threatened Real Valladolid for gameweek 27 of La Liga. The gap between them and Barcelona was increased to 15 yesternight, and los blancos will be looking to cut it down to 12 to scarce the tiniest bit of hope of defending their league crown.

Carlo Ancelotti has opted to use a highly attacking starting lineup for the clash, with Karim Benzema spearheading the front-three. He is flanked by Marco Asensio on the right while Vinicius Jr retains his place on the left.

Rodrygo also gets the nod to start, probably as an attacking midfielder in what looks like a 4-2-3-1.

Aurelien Tchouameni has been given the nod in midfield, with Toni Kroos forming the double pivot alongside him.

With Antonio Rudiger, Ferland Mendy, and Nacho out injured, Eduardo Camavinga gets the license to start as the left-back, while Lucas Vazquez flanks the defence from the right. The usual suspects — Eder Militao and David Alaba — start in central defence.

Thibaut Courtois was a doubt heading into this game, but has been given the medical greenlight to take his place as the goalkeeper.

Madrid XI: Courtois; Vazquez, Militao, Alaba, Camavinga; Tchouameni, Kroos; Asensio, Rodrygo, Vinicius; Benzema

Continue Reading